Philosophical Pneumonia

Nothing to do but philosophize

How best do you grab time that is slipping away? You write about it!

January is slipping by. The last few years we have, sadly, hit our medical deductible by January one year and February the year before. My very brave new years resolution was not needing a doctor at all in January.

So the resolution made on New Year’s Eve dawned the next day to a cold. I have had lung surgery and lung obstructions, so this was not good news, but I am doing better, so I soldiered through for a week. Then it got worse. I ended up in urgent care with bronchitis, super -duper antibiotic that always work, and nasty cough syrup. I went to the pharmacy, and $400 later went home. (Apparently you have to pay to breathe.) I did better quickly and at the week mark again got much worse. Back to urgent care. This time it was pneumonia with the doctor shaking his head. He had never seen the antibiotic not work. So then I was put on two antibiotics and even worse cough syrup. Then I was told to go to my regular dr during the week, which added steroids for breathing and another round of antibiotics when the others were finished.

I have been sick thee entire month of January, have paid hundreds of dr bills and prescriptions, and have missed enough church that I will have to visit the visitor’s VIP desk and get a free t-shirt.

After looking at my few options of redeeming the time, I realized that there really weren’t any. And this is when I started getting philosophical…

  1. Life is Like Pneumonia: Just when you start thinking everything is good, you let your guard down. Then life comes in like a flood. Never let your umbrella be far.
  2. No matter what anyone says, prescription prices are just a fancy way of taxing the people without an uproar. The people will pay whatever because they need to breathe to live.
  3. Doctors are not omniscient. My dr shook his head at the antibiotic not working and said, “Well, doctoring is called practicing…”. That didn’t make me feel any better.
  4. People who have never had pneumonia think of it as a bad cold. After walking up and down a flight of stairs, I was wheezing and gasping for air. I was asked why I was out of breath….????
  5. Just because you have lung issues does not mean you deserve a lecture on how to stop smoking. (If I had a million dollars for every time I have been given that lecture over the last five years.)
  6. If you can get energy out of Niagara Falls just by the water going down, you could harness energy out of pneumonic coughs.
  7. If children get stickers for shots, why don’t adults get expresso?
  8. No matter how much your children claim you love them, they are not willing to get within 10 feet of you just because you are sick. (Seriously, if they were going to catch it, it would have been by now.)
  9. Buy stock in Kleenex. Seriously, think about it!
  10. Pneumonia gives you more freedom as a writer. You are so miserable, you just don’t care if what you say hurts people’s feelings.

So there are some good truths and ideas to chew on. Do you have any?

4 thoughts on “Philosophical Pneumonia

  1. Oh Lisa, you poor thing, I do hope you improve rapidly. I always fight any illness with nutrition (duh . . . naturally I’m a nutritionist after all) so you can always add more garlic, lemon, herbal teas, hot spices like red pepper, salsa, horseradish, hot mustards to open up the lungs.

    About five years ago, I developed what I thought was a bad cold. I toughed it out and worked 55 hour weeks – there was no one else who could step in – and nearly died from exhaustion and weakness fighting this “bad cold.” When I finally returned to the doctor three weeks later, she mentioned, “Oh, well you had pneumonia after all.” Somehow, the word never reached me though! Live and learn. Get well soon my friend! Blessings back,

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Ellie. I can’t imagine working like you did with pneumonia! I am glad my job is teaching at home…much easier than going out. Nutrition is important, and I haven’t given it the respect I should. Thank you for caring!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

