A Fun New Job and This Time I Get Paid

I earned my bachelor’s of education degree back in 1991 and worked for a couple years before our first child was born. I taught and I was paid. That is a crazy weird concept to me now after spending the last 23 years birthing, raising and educating our four amazing children for absolutely no money; and certainly that is how it should be.

Many of you know that I have one child left in my homeschool, and she really doesn’t need me much for her classes. I work with her for a couple of hours a day and greatly enjoy her education and her well thought through ideas on many topics.

Homeschooling parents make huge monetary and physical sacrifices to educate their children. The moms are not only the homemaker and teacher, but also the dollar stretcher. It is amazing how hard the moms work to do a lot for very little. They are also on the go 24/7; with a few hours of unconsciousness here and there.

This has definitely been where our household has been. I have looked for at home work that didn’t involve trying to sell products to my already cash strapped homeschooling friends. Somehow nothing ever seemed to work.

In the last three weeks God completely dropped an amazing job in my lap. I now teach young children in China (ages five to ten) English as a second language. It is through VIPKID who has cutting edge educational technology that allows us to teach through the VIPKID website. So very early this morning I was able to meet students in China right before their bedtime and make learning English fun and exciting. Best of all, I LOVE it. (Oh, and I get paid!). If you have a 4 year college degree and have spent at least one year teaching children and are interested in making some money, just let me know.

This morning I met Kevin from Shanghai and had fun conversations about China, America, meadows, lions and badminton. He also taught our pomeranian, Ivanna, how to say “hello” in Chinese. It turns out she is a quick study. I hope Kevin comes back so we can discuss what the stars on his flag represent…

I know that my blog, “God is Good”, covers many different topics, so now I am adding one more. Life is like that you know. One minute you are teaching algebra to your 14 year old, then teaching “savannah” to a ten year old in Shanghai, then writing poetry about abuse and life, throwing dishes into the dishwasher quickly, and then running to the post office to drop off Amazon book rentals for your college child who just realized today is the last day to return the book and they will be at school and work all day… Β And in the midst of all of this wonderful chaos, I know that God is good through it all.

 

 

16 thoughts on “A Fun New Job and This Time I Get Paid

  1. How exciting! I am in the same boat. Bachelor degree in 1991 and one kid left at home who doesn’t need me as much. I’ve been trying to think of what to do with my spare time. So happy you found something fulfilling!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We must be twins! Let me know when you figure this time in life out. It was pretty scary at first (I document this struggle in my post ” The One Question Homeschooling Mom’s Can’t Answer”). It is certainly a strange season. Keep me posted!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree. It is a hard adjustment and I am glad we can support/encourage each other. Blogging is certainly helpful to get other opinions and ideas looking in instead of just seeing what goes on in my head. Thanks for your support! I am excited to see what you do and how you adjust. It will be exciting, I think.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

